BLOG #4: THE CLEANSE

Set yourself free from the confines of social media.

As of me writing this blog currently, I have decided to cleanse myself from the grasps, clutches, or whatever play on words or analogy I can think of to escape the addiction that is SOCIAL MEDIA! Granted, social media is literally in the palm of my hands everyday it does not necessarily have to be on certain apps but it’s all around, pretty much the whole internet. In my case, I decided to delete that of Twitter, Snapchat, Instagram, Messenger, and a few other apps OH YEAH even TikTok because just like drugs they are addicting and easily give some sort of instant gratification each time I opened up an app. The more I kept opening and closing and opening and closing I’m sitting there wondering to myself “My god, is there no other reason to be on these apps?” of course I’ll get a laugh here and there out of these apps or see how other people are living in their daily lives, but I literally spent my time that could be used to other areas of my life wasting away staring blank at these apps.

To compare it, is like comparing a drug addict looking for a quick fix, especially on TikTok. Let me start my little rant: I NEVER wanted to do TikTok, had NO INTENTIONS of using TikTok, and saw TikTok as a revamped, remastered, and remake of an old popular app known as Vine. TikTok literally sums up this generation now always looking for instant gratification not that slow, long burn, and buildup to a payoff that results in an original exciting story or a happy outcome. No, it’s the saying of “I NEED IT NOW!!!” and that’s the problem comparable to a drug user that needs a quick fix who wants to feel “that high”, in TikTok’s case, that quick six to between sixty seconds of laughter. I slowly saw myself getting hooked with each new video, every swipe whether up or down, every new trend or trending topics, and especially every new satire or just something creative that catches my eye. I tried quitting TikTok a few times but the more I tried the more I saw myself coming back to that same “fix” and even started creating content myself to varying success. Immediately, I found myself under the influence and hypnosis that TikTok had on the masses (not literally but you get my drift), at that point. I knew I had to quit social media (for awhile).

Now, I’m giving Myself 30 days to accomplish any goals or complete any projects I once began and never finished without distraction. This will be the bar to see if I really can focus on the tasks at hand and be successful in my ventures. Otherwise, all of this will be for naught if I don’t see any self-growth within myself to get it done or be stumped in getting it all done. At the end of 30 days I will post another blog detailing my little journey and all the wonders this little sabbatical will have taught me in the process. I can truly say this I don’t believe it will be hard to be without social media aside from missing out on trending memes, seeing commentary from others on topics in the world, and that “connection” to others but it’ll be okay because it is not the end all be all for me. I’m gladly looking forward to this challenge and see where it takes me but I encourage you guys to do the same every once in a while too.

Until Next Blog, take care you guys and check back later – Rel

Leave a Comment